Skip to content

Sign that the Apocalypse is NOT upon us.

April 2, 2007
by

This week’s sign that the apocalypse is not upon us is a doozy. This is the clearest confirmation that all is well I have ever found, let me know if you agree.

A local fellowship in our area is doing an intense mailing and door hanging campaign as Easter Sunday approaches. Inside is a brochure that explains what one should do to be saved along with a card to receive a book that will help you on your new found faith journey, but that isn’t what has given me such peace this morning.

Along with the brochure is an insert for the local church. Let me just share the copy from the front of the insert.

“This Easter worship with us @ (yes they used that, just one sign that we are safe) Church X and discover your place for faith, family & friends. Exciting music & relevant, life-changing teaching from the Bible as well as a special guest appearance by Miss America 2006, Jennifer Berry, make this a service you don’t want to miss! Choose from three convenient times with childcare available in every service for preschool; birth – 4 years old.”

This place clearly doesn’t vacuum and I guarantee they will have more than 500 in attendance this Sunday. I still get a shiver down my spine, Jesus and Miss America, what a team. I am just thankful that they didn’t promise the other part of this Easter tandem for autographs that would blow my entire post. I think they just have a cardboard one of Jesus.

Hey but I’m not done sharing powerful copy because it also says this.

“Bring this card Easter Sunday for a chance to get your picture and an autograph with Miss America 2006, Jennifer Berry.”

There you have it, can anything be a safer predictor that all is well in Christendom? I mean the apocalypse is no where in sight as we celebrate Miss America Day, I mean Easter here locally. The beauty is with Miss America giving autographs and pictures for the first hundred or so responders I’m sure the powerful message of resurrection will just be an added bonus. I got an autograph and I got saved, what a deal.

I don’t know what message that sends about Jesus but since it isn’t about him, hello, but instead about getting a lot of people at your building so that you can tell people about him what concerns would anyone have.

Go about your business with the firm comfort of knowing that the apocalypse is no where near.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2007 12:20 pm

    Are you serious? You’re not making this up? In business we called this “bait and switch.” Advertise the cheap with the hope that the customer will chase the bait and opt for the more valuable.

    And most people think (rightly so) that the practice is unethical.

    Incredible.

  2. April 3, 2007 12:52 pm

    No, I am serious.

    It seems that the idea some have is do anything to get them in the building. Maybe next year they will give everyone a pony.

    What has surprised me more is in another place I asked about this and I can’t find anyone who is outraged.

    It is a day that we celebrate Jesus resurrection, our hope for eternal life, but that probably won’t draw anyone so we are going to give autographs of Miss America?

    Don’t you feel comfortable knowing that Evangelical Christians are so passionate for Christ?

  3. DPBurns permalink
    April 3, 2007 1:31 pm

    Hey I have a question. What is a “dozy”? and have you seen “MeChurch” the Igniter video? I will go to your church, but only if you have hot women…..

  4. April 3, 2007 1:41 pm

    You make me laugh. I will edit to repair the, it seems to be making me sleepy.

  5. April 3, 2007 1:43 pm

    I guess someone didn’t realize that was a parody, or was it…

Leave a Reply

