Skip to content

Two things that came…

March 29, 2007
by

From my Church of Christ upbringing.

An education of scripture. At our church we have people from many different backgrounds and I have come to understand that most people have no understanding of the Bible. They don’t know what it says and they can not find what it says because they have never really looked.

Why is it that so many want to follow the entertainment route that has helped foster this illiteracy? We teach our 3rd and 4th graders the books of the Bible, apostles, etc. so they can study the book on there own. Our youth group is going verse by verse through the gospel of Mark.

If your church is following the path of evangelicalism where we try to entertain the kids with some light and fluffy concepts about Jesus stop the bus and stay the course. Can we make good Bible learning more enjoyable, sure, but don’t throw out the baby of learning with the bathwater of boredom.

The understanding of the need for obedience. I truly never understood the lack of understanding of obedience until I got into the universal Christian world. It still amazes me when any talk of actually obeying God is met with accusations of legalism. I just don’t understand how anyone can think that way but I have heard it more than I would ever like to admit.

Yes the CoC in places missed out on grace but trust me adding grace doesn’t guarantee that people will understand obedience. Luther’s war on works has taken a heavy toll on the Christian world. Many people act as if obedience is optional and has nothing to do with being a Christ follower. How strange that is to say but I have seen it so much that it is more than just an anomaly.

I am thankful that in my CoC upbringing I was taught that obedience mattered and was expected.

How about you? Maybe you haven’t wondered out into the Christian world to discover all of your blessings but if you have I think it might be good to share them with others. I understand that the CoC is not the only group that can say this, I just think it is important to appreciate the many positive things that came with my CoC upbringing.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2007 4:38 am

    I completely agree with you about obedeince. A child of God is designed to be obedient. It is in our spiritual DNA to do the will of God. Where I part company with some is when they attemp to make obedience a condition for salvation.

    Christ gives Himself, not a new set of rules.

    Grace and Peace,
    Royce Ogle

  2. March 29, 2007 11:42 am

    Darin,

    Thanks, brother. Obedience isn’t a dirty word. Grace is only opposed to earning; it isn’t opposed to effort. There’s nothing optional about obedience. Those who ignore it will not be vindicated before the King. Jesus has been emphatically clear about that.

    Ben

  3. March 29, 2007 12:23 pm

    Thanks. Yes, it is not an ugly you better obey or else, it is obedience because God knows what He is talking about, but I do appreciate obedience.

    Thanks for stopping in guys. Always appreciate your comments.

  4. March 29, 2007 2:39 pm

    Good thoughts Darin. In regards to peoples lack of knowledge when it comes to the bible, I think you are dead on. My wife, who is coming along with her bible understanding stated that she put so much faith in the preacher/pastor/minister and trusted their understanding of it. Hence, the lack of desire to “try to figure out things” on her own

  5. March 29, 2007 5:59 pm

    I like the fact that I can read music.

  6. March 29, 2007 6:49 pm

    Todd, are you trying to pick a fight here?

  7. March 29, 2007 9:53 pm

    No. No insult intended at all.

    But, if it were a shape-note fight, I’d soooo win.

    I’m just saying.

    Shalom.

  8. March 29, 2007 10:23 pm

    I think shape-notes sXXk is all.

    Do you have any shape-notes stories connected to your drama troop from college? That would be good.

  9. Jim Sexton permalink
    March 30, 2007 1:27 am

    I love HBO. It has been a huge part of my life since I was a kid. In fact, it bothers me that so many people have been turning away from it in the last decade.

    Huh?

    Hear
    Believe
    Obey

    I didn’t make this up. It came right out of the NT and too many folks want their religion just like their meals… fast and cheap. We need to stop calling ourselves Christians if we don’t want to obey his teaching, follow his example, and extend his love.

    Everybody wants to go so far as believe, and call it Christianity. Well, it ain’t. Fear God and keep his commandments. Obey… If you keep my commandments, you shall abide in my love. Obey…

    “People, what have you done? Locked Him in a golden cage. Made Him bend to your religion! Him resurrected from the grave.”

    “So, I asked this God a question, and he said by way of firm reply, ‘I’m not the kind you have to wind up on Sunday.'”

    Both are ‘off the top of my head’ quotes from the album Aqualung by Jethro Tull. Ian Anderson sees through the idiocy better than most.

    People, we have got to stop fighting over where heaven will be, and who will be the greatest, and whether I am of Paul or of Apollos…

    I come to preach Christ and Him crucified…
    Jimbo

  10. March 30, 2007 1:38 am

    Great thoughts Jim.

  11. March 30, 2007 6:45 pm

    I don’t have any such stories. Nor do I actually know how to read shape notes.

    No, I was just putting on airs.

Leave a Reply

