Skip to content

Sudoku and Spirituality

March 13, 2007
by

Can I say that I hate Sudoku without being attacked? What is it with those crazy numbers that so many people are hooked? My wife has the books all over the house. There is one in the bathroom, one by the bed, in the kitchen, by the TV. We have a Sudoku book for every occasion. I guess I’m just not smart enough.

Any maybe that is a part of the problem. I think to often I want it easy and Sudoku is just hard. I don’t want to have to think or figure it out or really see something deeper. Give me the Playstation where I can shoot at people in an imaginary world and I will be happy.

God has been taking me to some really interesting places in my reading of late, I guess to a deeper place where things don’t always make sense and I’m unsure of the implication.

Today I was reading the John’s gospel and I stopped here.

“But Jesus on his part did not entrust himself to them, because he knew all people and needed no one to bear witness about man, for he himself knew what was in man.” John 2:24,25

What an interesting thing to say. I’m not sure I have a clue what John means. What would it mean to entrust yourself to man? To depend on them? Why would someone even need to say that? There is something in it that seems fragile and protective but why? Is it really about being protective or is it something else?

What do you think? I don’t enjoy Sudoku but maybe Sudoku isn’t the problem, maybe I am. Maybe I’m not willing to dive into mystery enough to wonder why. I would love to hear your thoughts on what John has to say.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2007 9:57 pm

    well, I think that the first facet of that portion of John has to do with the witness that he is the word, the lamb of God sent to take away the sins of the world and all those other names that John throws out in chapter one and the beginning of two…until he lets it be known that God loves a good party.

    That Jesus didn’t entrust who he was to man…but I’ll have to think on that for a little while…yeah Sudoku…

  2. Jim Sexton permalink
    March 14, 2007 6:51 pm

    Let’s recap… he just turned over all the tables of the merchants in the temple, no small feat for an emaciated and frail white guy, then boldly stated that he would tear down ‘this temple’ and rebuild it in three days. Following this statement about not ‘entrusting himself’ to them he goes on to have the very difficult conversation about a man being reborn as he speaks with Nicodemus.

    He has a lot to say here in John and it isn’t easy to figure it all out. He also just told him mother a chapter or so ago that it “wasn’t his time yet.” These are statements that take longer than a Sudoku to figure out.

    I love the ways that John just rips off great quotes of Jesus, one right after the other. The other Gospels had already told the story, he was coming along and giving THE NEXT GENERATION some of the wonderment of a Jesus that they had never seen.

    Almost like, OK you know the facts, now here is the background and the reality of the man. As Paul Harvey would have said… “The rest of the story.”

    Good Day!
    Jimbo

Leave a Reply

