Skip to content

My name is Darin and I’m…

March 9, 2007
by

… addicted to all kinds of worthless TV programs. I’m afraid this blog is turning into a regular Oprah Winfrey/Jerry Springer ensemble cast kind of event, a Friends without the Friends.

So I’m trying to practice what I preach so I’m dumping a great many TV programs that somehow became must see TV for me. That rhyme was free FYI.

I have to admit to getting a little shaky, I had my moments. I decided that knowing who gets voted off of American Idol is really not that important. Two weeks ago Sundance was a festival and a town I accidentally visited in Wyoming, another long story.

I started thinking about the fact that I went several years without watching it at all and my life wasn’t empty or lacking in any way because I didn’t know who Ruben Studdard was or Fantasia.

So I began to go through a stack of Sports Illustrated and Time magazines. I don’t think we have anymore coming. I just want to warn you that the discount that Best Buy offers is not worth the headache of receiving magazines you don’t read and didn’t really want. You can cancel the subscription but not before you pay more than you saved with a stack of magazines you feel a deep obligation to read.

So I went through my large unread stack and even discovered some interesting reading about politics and abortion.

I also began reading a book in this newly discovered time. I am reading Sex God with a friend. I started with chapter one tonight.

My son needed some help with homework so I sat down and worked on synonyms with the thesaurus. I now have taken time to read a book with our youngest and now that they are all safely tucked in bed I have sat down to continue on with my new chapter in an old addiction, blogging.

I had a great night. It is nights like this that make me wonder how I let myself get so far into unprofitable addictions. I find it interesting that culturally we frown on certain addictions while others are socially acceptable. As a believer I realized that I allow these poorly defined worldly parameters to get me in places I shouldn’t want to go, wasting my time in front of the TV when I could be reading, growing and building relationships.

Here is praying that I allow tonight’s experience to lead the way. I pray that I continue to abandon my addiction to worthless television.

God bless and keep up the good work.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2007 5:43 pm

    I had a friend that taught the other night and he tried to explain to a bunch of college students that some of them probably didn’t need to be in college. That there is an addiction to wealth that the church and even parents often encourage that goes against God’s will often.

    TV, food. These three are ones that come to mind to me that acceptable addictions.

  2. March 9, 2007 5:46 pm

    Interesting addition. I should probably add sugar to the list.

    Thanks for adding your thoughts.

    What do you think? Does this one carry a new tenor? That is my goal.

  3. March 9, 2007 6:15 pm

    Good for you Darin. My wife and I were just talking last night wondering why we waste money on cable when we watch less than an hour of TV a day, if that, most days. I guess we keep it around for the Weather Channel and so my wife can watch Jayhawks basketball.
    There is so much more to life than vegging in front of a tube. Sound like you’re on to something.

  4. March 9, 2007 8:59 pm

    Well it’s early to say, but so far, yes. The tenor is different.

  5. Jim Sexton permalink
    March 12, 2007 3:38 pm

    Tenor…? what about the Soprano’s?

    =) Jimbo

  6. August 14, 2009 9:43 am

    Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant.. Can’t wait for the next seasons auditions to start!

Leave a Reply

