Skip to content

Jorge

May 25, 2011

He needed a ride. Jorge is a part of our English as a Second Language class. He needed to be in Oklahoma City for a court appearance. He asked me if I could drive him. I told him sure and gave him my phone number. That was Sunday and he needed to be there on Tuesday. I told him to give me a call on Monday and let me know what time he needed to leave.

At 4:52 a.m. on Tuesday Jorge called. It seems he had trouble finding my phone number. He told me he needed to be there by 8:30 a.m. and so I told him we would get going. I tried my best to explain that he should meet me at our church building. You see communication with Jorge can be hard. He is working to learn English. He understands it is something he needs to do to be a part of our culture, to get better jobs and make it in the U.S.

We arrived a little after eight in the western part of Oklahoma City just north of the airport. We pulled into the Office of Homeland Security parking lot and lined up with all of the others who were gathered.

As you might have guessed, Jorge was there because he is not legally in our country. He was there because he was arrested and could not verify legal residency. I waited all morning. It was a very interesting experience being in a place where the majority of conversations take place in a language other than English.

Finally Jorge came before the judge and was told the process he needed to follow to live legally in our country. We left and I took Jorge to eat catfish at the Steak & Catfish Ranch in Edmond just off I-35. (Thanks Food Dude for the picture and the information that the place wasn’t open when I was in college at Oklahoma Christian. I was kicking myself for missing it. P.S. I went to school with the Food Dude and was in his wedding, just an FYI.)

We had some miscommunication along the way. I thought for sure he had access to a Pike Pass. Guess not. It took some effort to find the restaurant, I wasn’t exactly sure of the address. Jorge kept pointing to signs that said Tulsa thinking I had lost my way. It was hard to explain that I wasn’t looking for Tulsa. I also learned about what brought him to the U.S. and that the money he makes goes to family back home, or at least I think I did.

You might be trying to figure out what you think about the entire situation. I don’t and I didn’t. Jorge needs to be in our country legally and I am doing what I can to help. He is in the middle of the process and I’m trying to be the hands and feet of Jesus to him.

I think we error when we feel some obligation to decide what our government should or shouldn’t do. As a part of God’s kingdom I know what I need to do. Show him the love of Jesus Christ. Turn a blind eye to law breaking? I’m not doing that either. I am helping. Our church is helping. That for me is all I need to know and do.

What place does God’s Kingdom have in fighting for a wall or more border patrols?
For a kingdom not of this world we seem a little preoccupied. I find it fascinating that in the book of Acts there is a constant theme that the Roman government has nothing to fear when it comes to God’s Kingdom. We are not interested in taking your power. Fast forward 2000 years and it seems all consuming on both sides of the debate.

I am called to love. Does the government need to secure the border for the safety of the people? Yes, but we shouldn’t miss that this has no bearing on love or a trip to Oklahoma City for court.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2011 6:50 pm

    praise God you answered the call. i am thankful Jorge knows you.

    • May 26, 2011 9:10 pm

      Thanks James for your always encouraging words. You will probably never know how much they mean.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

