Skip to content

Am I a Hypocrite?

December 28, 2009

Some of you may recall that I posted about billboards a few years ago. I was struck by the number of them that are from churches and I wondered if it was a wise investment of resources.

Well, in twists of all twists we got one of those to good to be true offers to do a billboard here in Owasso. (This is where you read the 2007 post and let me have it.)

In my defense we did more for Back to School this past year than any before. We added dental work the past two and we continue to give more and more around the world. This year we helped ministries impacting the homeless and orphans in Asia and Africa. So no animals were harmed and no money was taken away from being the hands and feet of Jesus in putting up this billboard.

Back to the billboards. My big problem with them was that the ones I noticed either are advertising people, “hey aren’t our Pastor and his wife pretty people,” or location, “here is the address and name of our church and this is how you get here on Sunday.”

So we do have a billboard but you won’t find our street address or worship hours. You will simply find what I think is a powerful message that needs to get out, God’s Kingdom is to be at work in our world today.

I am also comfortable with it because our website has been redesigned to put forth the simple message that the church is not here to serve members but instead is here to serve as a testimony to God as his active Kingdom on earth. I think we do a good job of letting people know we are not here to wait on them hand and feet but instead are here to help them BE the hands and feet of Jesus Christ.

But what really sealed the deal for me, and made it doable and justifiable in my already worried about coming across like a hypocrite mind, was the fact that they also threw in a digital board for use when we do ministry that impacts our community. So right now in Owasso you will see a billboard that informs people of our tutoring program. People don’t have to allow their children to fall behind in school because they can’t afford help. We say we want to be God’s Kingdom on one billboard while we show people just how on another.

So what do you think, still make me a hypocrite?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2009 3:00 pm

    I like these. My first reaction was I didn’t know what to think about the lion with the Rep/Dem political colors over it but I think that gets the point across well. I wonder how much the average person will make the connection between church and kingdom. Is that too much like insider talk or is it something you want to make people curious about that should be pretty evident what is going on the first time they walk in the door?

  2. December 29, 2009 5:10 pm

    Matt,

    Thanks for the input. We will see what happens. I can track our web traffic because the big push was getting people to our site.

    We discussed at length the idea that many people won’t understand and decided that this might be a good thing. It is hard to really know. We didn’t want to just put up a name and address and getting the second digital board was such a key.

    We can always pay to do something different if this doesn’t impact people. In the end we liked what the message says about what God’s people should be about so we ran with it.

    Thanks again for the feedback.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

